Australian High Commission
Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
Also accredited to the Republic of Maldives

About us

About the Australian High Commission in Sri Lanka

The High Commission aims to advance the interests of Australia and Australians internationally and to foster strong official and people-to-people links between Australia and Sri Lanka and Australia and the Maldives.

The Australian High Commission in Colombo has a number of sections - Political and Economic, Consular and Administration, Visa and Immigration, Development Cooperation, Austrade (Australian Trade Commission), Australian Federal Police, Australian Border Force and Defence. Contact details are available through the 'Contact Us' tab.


Head of Mission

Australian High Commissioner to Sri Lanka and Ambassador to the Maldives


Opening hours

The High Commission is open between 08:30am and 05:00pm on all week-days, except on the days given below. Notarial services are available between 3:00pm and 4:00pm each day. Please refer to the relevant sections for information regarding times for lodgement of visa applications, consular assistance and for other contacts.

Public holidays

New Year’s Day                                                         Friday                          1 January

Tamil Thai Pongal Day                                          Friday                          15 January

National Day                                                             Thursday                     4 February

Good Friday                                                               Friday                           25 March

Day prior to Sinhala & Tamil New Year Day Wednesday                 13 April

Sinhala & Tamil New Year Day                           Thursday                     14 April

May Day (in lieu)                                                        Monday                        2 May

Day following Vesak Full Moon Poya Day (in lieu)  Monday             23 May

Queen’s Birthday                                                      Monday                       13 June

Ramadan Day *                                                          TBC                                July

Labour Day                                                                  Monday                       3 October

Boxing Day                                                                   Monday                       26 December

Christmas Day (in lieu)                                            Tuesday                      27 December

Additional DFAT Holiday                                         Wednesday               28 December              

*  Subject to the appearance of the moon